Denkmal für die ermordeten Juden Europas e.V.

The Breuninger Quartet

On the evening before the 64th anniversary of the liberation of Auschwitz, the Jewish Museum Berlin and IPPNW-Concerts hosted a benefit concert for the Room of Names at the Jewish Museum.

The evening raised 2,517.50 Euros. This sum will be used to create further listening biographies for the Room of Names.


Our heartfelt thanks to Ingrid and Dr. Peter Hauber of IPPNW-Concerts, who organized and implemented the benefit concert. We also wish to thank the Jewish Museum Berlin for letting us use its facilities free of charge. Finally, we also thank all the wonderful musicians and narrators who agreed to appear without fees.

The Breuninger Quartet

Sebastian Breuninger, Violin

Stanley Dodds, Violin

Annemarie Moorcroft, Viola

David Riniker, Violoncello

Special Guest: Anna Prohaska, Soprano

The Narrators

Therese Affolter and Christian Brückner

The Breuninger Quartet (members of the Gewandhaus Leipzig, Deutsches Symphonie Orchester Berlin and the Berlin Philharmonic) performed the Slow Movement for String Quartet (1905) by Anton Webern, and – together with soprano Anna Prohaska – the String Quartet No. 2 by Arnold Schoenberg, with texts by Stefan George.

Texts by Survivors

Between the musical contributions, Therese Affolter and Christian Brückner read texts by the survivors Primo Levi, Peter Weiss, Elie Wiesel and Nelly Sachs.

The evening ended with the String Quartet “Death and the Maiden” by Franz Schubert.  

Donate Online »

Room of Names

The purpose of the “Room of Names” in the “Memorial to the Murdered Jews of Europe” in Berlin is to provide a space for these victims.


Auch Sie können unsere Arbeit unterstützen. Vielen Dank!

Seite weiterempfehlen
Print preview
A- A A+